1st Phase UP Elections: A Report

The Polling ends for the first phase of assembly elections in India’s most populous state – Uttar Pradesh. A massive exercise of citizens’ democratic rights. We compiled a brief list of facts to present the complexity and the size of the 1st Phase-

1) The overall voter turnout figure stands at 57.79 per cent. As many as 623 candidates stood for vindication from around 2.28 crore eligible voters which include 1.24 crore males, 1.04 crore females and 1448 transgenders.

2) The first phase covered a total of 58 constituencies spread across 11 districts:

  1. Shamli
  2. Muzaffar Nagar
  3. Baghpat
  4. Meerut
  5. Ghaziabad
  6. Gautam Buddha Nagar
  7. Hapur
  8. Bulandshahr
  9. Aligarh
  10. Mathura
  11. Agra

3) The 1st Phase saw 34 sitting MLAs fighting the election to retain their dominant position.

4) Over one lakh personnel of the Uttar Pradesh police and home guards besides 800 companies of the paramilitary were activated to provide security and maintain order.

5) The BJP won 53 of the 58 seats in 2017, BSP and SP won two seats each and RLD scored the remaining single seat. The BJP’s vote share was 46%, while the BSP’s was 22% and RLD-SP’s combine was at 24%. BJP were invincible- its vote share was equal to the vote share of BSP, SP and RLD put together.

6) The massive 2020-21 farmer’s protest against the Government was strongly backed by farmers from Western UP. Most psephologists consider this event to catalyze a reversal of fortunes for BJP in the region.

To learn more about Uttar Pradesh’s electoral history, you can explore our highly interactive map and get details on winners, losers, the margin of victory and more.