Parliamentary Constiutency Watch: Hardoi 


Hardoi Lok Sabha constituency is one of the 80 Lok Sabha constituencies in the Indian state of Uttar Pradesh. It comprises 5 assembly constituencies and a district.   


Designated as a General Constituency.    

Voter Turnout   

Hardoi Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 17,14,388 and the turnout stood at 56.75%, in 9,72,896 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout increase; out of 18,07,119 electors, 58.52% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers- 10,57,558 voters.   

Representation and Results    

Party Wise Vote Share

2019’s parliamentary election winner, BJP’s Jai Prakash gained a vote share of 53.70% and defeated SP’s Usha Sharma whose vote share stood at 41.20%. The other prominent candidates in the fray were INC’s Virendra Kumar with a vote share of 1.90% and independent candidate Bhaiya Lal with 0.70% of vote share.  

Voting History –2014 & 2019   

Party Wise Shift in Votes

 In 2014, BJP won the constituency and earned 3,60,501 votes followed by 5,68,143 votes in the 2019 election victory. On the other hand, SP garnered 2,76,543 votes in 2014 and 4,35,669 votes in the 2019 elections.    

Parties at helm through the years  

 The Hardoi constituency has been represented by a number of different parties over the years.  

In 1952, the Indian National Congress (INC) took the reins, but the landscape shifted with the emergence of the Bharatiya Jana Sangh (BJS) in 1957, although INC returned through a by-election the same year. Subsequently, INC maintained its dominance until 1977 when the Janata Party (JP) secured victory. However, INC made a comeback in 1980 and 1984. The political scene diversified in 1989 with the rise of the Janata Dal (JD), although INC briefly returned through a by-election in 1990.   

  Timeline of Winning Parties

The 1990s saw the entry of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), which clinched power in 1991 and 1996, with other parties like the Samajwadi Party (SP) and the ABLTC securing victories in 1998 and 1999. The 2004 elections witnessed the SP’s return to power and the party continue the winning streak in 2009 as well. The next election in 2014 saw BJP’s reemergence in the seat which it followed up with a consecutive victory in 2019.   

 Party-wise success rate  

 Success Rate

In terms of the success rate in securing the Hardoi Lok Sabha seat, INC and BJP had exhibited the highest rate of success over the years, standing at 37% and 21%. Among other prominent parties, SP and JD enjoyed a success rate of 16% and 11% respectively. 

Gender Wise Distribution of Contestants 

During the 2009 elections, there were 11 contestants and 8 of them were male and 3 females, in percentage- 73% and & 27%. In 2014, the total number of contestants increased to 15, out of which 14 were male and 1 was female, in percentage- 93% and 7%.   

Gender Wise Distribution of Candidates

In 2019, on the other hand, the total number of contestants was 11 whereby 10 were males and 1 female, in percentage that is 91% and 9% respectively. 

Gender wise voter turnout 

In 2009, out of a total of 14,15,885 electors, 5,74,067 voters cast their ballots. Of the 7,82,974 male electors, 3,70,515 participated in the election, constituting a turnout rate of 47%. There were 6,32,911 female electors and of that, 2,03,552 chose to vote with a turnout rate of 32%.  

In 2014, there are 17,4,387 people who are eligible to vote and 9,72,894 of them chose to exercise their right to vote. Out of these, 9,39,831 were male electors and 7,74,556 were female electors. 60% of male electors (5,65,543) and 53% of female electors (4,07,351) cast their ballots.  

      Gender Wise Voter Turnout

The total count of electors in 2019 was 18,07,063 out of which 10,55,392 chose to cast their ballot in the parliamentary elections. Out of 9,81,231 male electors, only 60% voted which is 5,87,977 male voters in real numbers. On the other hand, the voter turnout for females stood at 57% which translates to 4,67,415 voters out of a total of 8,25,832 female electors in real number.     

Gender-Wise Literacy Rate 

We are taking a peek at the gender-wise literacy rate of the Hardoi district which is part of the Hardoi parliamentary constituency as literacy is considered an essential indicator of the socioeconomic development of the region.  

Hardoi District 

Gender Wise Literacy Rate

The 2011 census of India has pegged the overall literacy rate of the Hardoi district at 54%. Gender-wise, the male literacy rate in the district is 63% whereas, for females, the literacy rate stands at 45%. 

Stay updated on the electoral statistics for parliamentary constituencies and the changing dynamics on Meradesh App. Available on Appstore and Play Store.    

Reach your constituents, gain insights into their motivations, and build campaigns based on data-driven strategies with the Meradesh Platform.    

Data Source –