Parliamentary Constituency Watch: Sangrur 


Sangrur Lok Sabha constituency is one of the 13 Lok Sabha constituencies in the Indian state of Punjab. It comprises 9 assembly constituencies and 3 districts.   


Designated as a General Constituency.    

Voter Turnout   

Sangrur Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 14,24,743 and the turnout stood at 77.17%, in real numbers- 10,99,467 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 15,29,431 electors, 72.31% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers- 11,05,888 voters.   

Representation and Results    

Party Wise Vote Share

2019’s parliamentary election winner, AAAP’s Bhagwant Mann gained a vote share of 37.40% and defeated SAD’s whose vote share stood at 23.80%. The other prominent candidates in the fray were INC’s Kewal Singh Dhillon with 27.40% of vote share and SAD(A)’s Simranjit Singh Mann with 4.40%.     

Voting History –2014 & 2019   

Party Wise Shift in Votes  

 In 2014, AAAP won the constituency and earned 5,33,237 votes followed by 4,13,561 votes in the 2019 election victory. On the other hand, INC garnered 1,81,410 votes in 2014 and 3,03,350 votes in the 2019 elections. SAD received 3,21,516 votes in 2014 which decreased to 2,63,498 votes in the 2019 elections. 

Parties at helm through the years  

The Indian National Congress (INC) emerged victorious in 1952. The political landscape then saw the Communist Party of India (CPI) clinching victory in 1962, followed by the AD(FS) party’s success in 1967. In 1971, CPI secured another victory, while the 1977 elections were won by the SAD party. The INC returned to power in 1980, but the political scene shifted with SAD’s victory in 1984. 

 Timeline of Winning Parties

The late 1980s marked victories for SAD(M) in 1989, followed by a return to power for the INC in 1991. The 1996 and 1998 elections were claimed by SAD, while SAD(M) emerged victorious in 1999. The political landscape saw another shift as SAD won in 2004, and the INC regained power in 2009. Notably, the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) secured victories in 2014 and 2019. In 2022 by-elections held in the constituency, SAD(M) party manage to reclaim the seat. 

 Party-wise success rate  

    Success Rate

In terms of the success rate in securing the Sangrur Lok Sabha seat, SAD had exhibited the highest rate of success in the elections held over the years, standing at 29% followed by INC at 24% and SAD(M) at 18%. Among other prominent parties, both CPI and AAAP managed a 12% success rate in the constituency. 

Gender Wise Distribution of Contestants 

During the 2009 elections, there were 16 contestants, and notably, all participants were male candidates. The next elections in 2014 saw an increase in contestant participation to 21 whereby 19 were males and 2 females, in percentage- 90% and 10% respectively.  

Gender Wise Distribution of Candidates

In 2019, the total number of contestants saw a further increase, with 25 individuals participating. Among them, 22 were male candidates, constituting 88% of the total, while 3 were female candidates, making up the remaining 12%. 

Gender wise voter turnout 

In 2009, out of a total of 12,47,188 electors, 9,30,883 voters cast their ballots. Of the 6,57,702 male electors, 4,97,091 participated in the election, constituting a turnout rate of 76%. There were 5,89,486 female electors and of that, 4,33,792 chose to vote with a turnout rate of 74%. 

In 2014, there are 14,24,743 people who are eligible to vote and 10,99,467 of them chose to exercise their right to vote. Out of these, 7,58,197 were male electors and 6,66,546 were female electors. 77% of male electors (5,83,487) and 77% of female electors (5,15,980) cast their ballots. 

  Gender Wise Voter Turnout 

The total count of electors in 2019 was 15,29,431 out of which 11,02,353 chose to cast their ballot in the parliamentary elections. Out of 8,14,855 male electors, only 73% voted which is 5,95,750 male voters in real numbers. On the other hand, the voter turnout for females stood at 71% which translates to 5,06,594 voters out of a total of 7,14,551 female electors in real number.     

In 2017, transgender people were included as a separate category of the third gender in electoral rolls. There were 25 electors belonging to the third gender category in the parliamentary constituency during the 2019 elections. And 9 of them exercised their newly granted constitutional right to vote and thus their turnout stood at 36%. 

Gender-Wise Literacy Rate 

We are taking a peek at the gender-wise literacy rate of the Barnala, Malerkotla and Sangrur districts which are part of the Sangrur parliamentary constituency as literacy is considered an essential indicator of the socioeconomic development of the region.  

Sangrur District 

The 2011 census of India has pegged the overall literacy rate of the Sangrur district at 59%. Gender-wise, the male literacy rate in the district is 64% whereas, for females, the literacy rate stands at 54%. 

Gender Wise Literacy Rate

Malerkotla District 

The overall literacy rate of the district is 65%. However, when it comes to gender, the literacy rate for males in the district stands at 69% while the female literacy rate is 60%.     

Barnala District 

 The district boasts an overall literacy rate of 60% with healthy representation by both males and females at 64% and 57% respectively. 

Stay updated on the electoral statistics for parliamentary constituencies and the changing dynamics on Meradesh App. Available on Appstore and Play Store.    

Reach your constituents, gain insights into their motivations, and build campaigns based on data-driven strategies with the Meradesh Platform.    

Data Source –