Parliamentary Constituency Watch: Fatehpur 


Fatehpur Lok Sabha constituency is one of the 80 Lok Sabha constituencies in the Indian state of Uttar Pradesh. It comprises 6 assembly constituencies and a district.   


Designated as a General Constituency.    

Voter Turnout   

Fatehpur Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 18,04,753 and the turnout stood at 58.55%, in real numbers- 10,56,688 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 18,39,312 electors, 56.74% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers- 10,43,655 voters.   

Representation and Results    

Party Wise Vote Share

2019’s parliamentary election winner, BJP’s Niranjan Jyoti gained a vote share of 54.20% and defeated BSP’s Sukhdev Prasad Verma whose vote share stood at 35.20%. The other prominent candidates in the fray were INC’s Rakesh Sachan with 6.30% of vote share and independent candidate Beni Prasad with 0.70% of vote share.  

Voting History –2014 & 2019   

Party Wise Shift in Votes

 In 2014, BJP won the constituency and earned 4,85,994 votes followed by 5,66,040 votes in the 2019 election victory. On the other hand, BSP garnered 2,98,788 votes in 2014 and 3,67,835 votes in the 2019 elections.    

Parties at helm through the years  

Timeline of Winning Parties

The Fatehpur constituency has been represented by a number of different parties over the years.  

The Indian National Congress (INC) won in 1957 and retained power in the following elections in 1967 and 1971. In 1977, the Janata Party (JP) secured a victory, followed by another JP win in 1978 through a by-election. The INC regained power in 1980 and 1984. Subsequently, the Janata Dal (JD) came to power in 1989 and 1991.  

The years 1996 and 2004 saw the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and the Samajwadi Party (SP) emerging victorious, respectively. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) claimed wins in 1998 and 1999. The Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) achieved victory in 2004, followed by the Samajwadi Party (SP) in 2009. The BJP claimed victory in 2014 and followed it up with another win in 2019, cementing its position as a major political force. 

 Party-wise success rate  

Success Rate

In terms of the success rate in securing the Fatehpur Lok Sabha seat, both INC and the BJP had exhibited the highest rate of success over the years, standing at 29% and 24% respectively. Among other prominent parties, BSP and JD enjoyed a success rate of 12% each. 

Gender Wise Distribution of Contestants 

Gender Wise Distribution of Candidates

During the 2009 elections, there were 18 contestants and all of them were male. In 2014, the total number of contestants decreased to 14, out of which 9 were male and 4 were females, in percentage- 64% and 36%.   

In 2019, on the other hand, the total number of contestants was further decreased to 10 whereby 9 were males and 1 female, in percentage that is 90% and 10% respectively. 

Gender wise voter turnout 

    Gender Wise Voter Turnout

In 2009, out of a total of 15,35,722 electors, 6,94,379 voters cast their ballots. Of the 8,44,310 male electors, 4,06,434 participated in the election, constituting a turnout rate of 48%. There were 6,91,412 female electors and of that, 2,87,945 chose to vote with a turnout rate of 42%.  

In 2014, there are 18,04,777 people who are eligible to vote and 10,56,688 of them chose to exercise their right to vote. Out of these, 9,85,922 were male electors and 8,18,855 were female electors. 58% of male electors (5,75,050) and 59% of female electors (4,81,638) cast their ballots.  

 The total count of electors in 2019 was 18,39,312 out of which 10,39,234 chose to cast their ballot in the parliamentary elections. Out of 9,99,058 male electors, only 55% voted which is 5,52,984 male voters in real numbers. On the other hand, the voter turnout for females stood at 58% which translates to 4,86,248 voters out of a total of 8,40,193 female electors in real number.     

In 2017, transgender people were included as a separate category of the third gender in electoral rolls. There were 61 electors belonging to the third gender category in the parliamentary constituency during the 2019 elections. And 2 of them exercised their newly granted constitutional right to vote and thus their turnout stood at 3%. 

Gender-Wise Literacy Rate 

We are taking a peek at the gender-wise literacy rate of the Fatehpur district which is part of the Fatehpur parliamentary constituency as literacy is considered an essential indicator of the socioeconomic development of the region.  

Gender Wise Literacy Rate

Fatehpur District 

The 2011 census of India has pegged the overall literacy rate of the Fatehpur district at 57%. Gender-wise, the male literacy rate in the district is 66% whereas, for females, the literacy rate stands at 48%. 

Stay updated on the electoral statistics for parliamentary constituencies and the changing dynamics on Meradesh App. Available on Appstore and Play Store.    

Reach your constituents, gain insights into their motivations, and build campaigns based on data-driven strategies with the Meradesh Platform.    

Data Source –