Parliamentary Constituency Watch: Amritsar 

Amritsar Lok Sabha constituency is one of the 13 Lok Sabha constituencies in the Indian state of Punjab. It comprises 9 assembly constituencies and a district.   


Designated as a General Constituency.   


Voter Turnout   

 Amritsar Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 14,77,262 and the turnout stood at 68.18%, in real numbers- 10,07,196 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 15,07,875 electors, 57.00% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers- 8,59,513 voters.   

Representation and Results     

Party Wise Vote Share

2019’s parliamentary election winner, INC’s Gurjeet Singh Aujla gained a vote share of 51.80% and defeated BJP’s Hardeep Singh Puri whose vote share stood at 40.20%. The other prominent candidates in the fray were AAAP’s Kuldip Singh Dhaliwal with 2.30% of vote share CPI’s Daswinder Kaur with 1.90%.     

Voting History –2014 & 2019  

  Party Wise Shift in Votes

 In 2014, INC won the constituency and earned 4,82,876 votes followed by 4,45,032 votes in the 2019 election victory. On the other hand, BJP garnered 3,80,106 votes in 2014 and 3,45,406 votes in the 2019 elections.   

Parties at helm through the years  

 The Amritsar constituency has been represented by a number of different parties over the years.  

In 1952, the Indian National Congress (INC) secured victory, followed by another win in 1957. The trend continued as INC claimed success in the years 1962, 1971, and 1996. In 1967, the Bharatiya Jana Sangh (BJS) emerged as the winning party. The year 1977 witnessed the victory of the Janata Party (JP), and in 1980 and 1984, INC returned to power. However, a shift occurred in 1989 when an Independent (IND) candidate claimed success.  

 Timeline of Winning Parties

The INC reclaimed victory in 1991, and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) came out on top in 1998. The year 1999 saw INC winning again before losing out the seat to BJP in 2004. In 2007, a by-election took place, with BJP emerging victorious and went on to secure triumph in 2009 as well. In 2014, INC returned to power. Another by-election occurred in 2017, with INC claiming success. Finally, in 2019, INC emerged as the winning party. 

 Party-wise success rate 

Success Rate

In terms of the success rate in securing the Amritsar Lok Sabha seat, INC had exhibited the highest rate of success over the years, standing at 65% followed by BJP with 20%. 

Gender Wise Distribution of Contestants 

Gender Wise Distribution of Candidates

During the 2009 and 2014 elections, there were 14 contestants and 23 contestants respectively with all of them male. In 2019 the total number of contestants increased to 30 whereby 29 were male contestants and 1 female, in percentage- 97% and 3% respectively.  

Gender wise voter turnout 

In 2009, out of a total of 12,36,153 electors, 8,14,523 voters cast their ballots. Of the 6,47,179 male electors, 4,37,189 participated in the election, constituting a turnout rate of 68%. There were 5,88,974 female electors and of that, 3,77,334 chose to vote with a turnout rate of 64%.  

In 2014, there are 14,77,262 people who are eligible to vote and 10,07,196 of them chose to exercise their right to vote. Out of these, 7,79,164 were male electors and 6,98,098 were female electors. 69% of male electors (5,37,641) and 67% of female electors (4,69,555) cast their ballots.  

  Gender Wise Voter Turnout

The total count of electors in 2019 was 15,07,875 out of which 8,56,658 chose to cast their ballot in the parliamentary elections. Out of 8,01,639 male electors, only 58% voted which is 4,66,526 male voters in real numbers. On the other hand, the voter turnout for females stood at 55% which translates to 3,90,128 voters out of a total of 7,06,178 female electors in real number.     

In 2017, transgender people were included as a separate category of the third gender in electoral rolls. There were 58 electors belonging to the third gender category in the parliamentary constituency during the 2019 elections. And 4 of them exercised the newly granted constitutional right to vote and thus their turnout stood at 7%. 

Gender-Wise Literacy Rate 

We are taking a peek at the gender-wise literacy rate of the Amritsar district which is part of the Amritsar parliamentary constituency as literacy is considered an essential indicator of the socioeconomic development of the region.  

Gender Wise Literacy Rate

Amritsar District 

The 2011 census of India has pegged the overall literacy rate of the district at 68%. Gender-wise, the male literacy rate in the district is 71% whereas, for females, the literacy rate stands at 64%. 

Stay updated on the electoral statistics for parliamentary constituencies and the changing dynamics on Meradesh App. Available on Appstore and Play Store.    

Reach your constituents, gain insights into their motivations, and build campaigns based on data-driven strategies with the Meradesh Platform.    

Data Source –