Assembly Constituency Watch: Nikol


Nikol assembly constituency is located in Ahmedabad district and consists of:  

Ahmedabad City Taluka (Part) – Ahmedabad Municipal Corporation (Part) Ward No. – 31, 34, 35. 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Nikol | Machine Dalal
Nikol Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2012 elections, the total number of electors was 212460 and the turnout stood at 67.78%, in real numbers- 144001 voters. 2017 witnessed a negligible turnout decrease; out of the 231586 electors, 67.59% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-156528 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Nikol Electoral Turnout Rates
Nikol Electoral Turnout Rates

2017’s assembly election winner, BJP’s Jagdish Panchal gained a vote share of 56.07% and defeated INC’s Gohil Indravijaysinh whose vote share stood at 40.17%. The remaining candidate in the fray was BSP’s Paramar Rameshbhai Govindbhai with 0.59% vote share. 1.25% of votes were under NOTA.   

Voting History -2012 & 2017 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Nikol |Meradesh
Nikol Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Assembly Election 2017 Winning Parties | Nikol | Machine Dalal
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2012, BJP won the constituency and earned 88286 votes and 87764 votes in 2017. On the other hand, INC garnered 39574 votes in 2012 and 62884 votes in 2017. BSP got 927 votes in 2017 elections. BJP dominated the district of Ahmedabad in 2017 by winning 15 seats.  INC managed to score 6 seats. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –