Assembly Constituency Watch: Kamrej


Kamrej assembly constituency is located in Surat district and consists of:  

Kamrej Taluka 

Choryasi Taluka (Part) Villages – Saroli, Saniya Hemad, Simada, Sarthana, Puna, Magob. 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Kamrej | Machine Dalal
Kamrej Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2012 elections, the total number of electors was 304630 and the constituency recorded a voter turnout of72.21 %, in real numbers- 219970 voters. 2017 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 428700 electors, 64.96% of voters chose to cast their vote. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump- 278466 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Party Wise Vote Share | Kalol, Panchmahal | Machine Dalal
Kamrej Candidates: Winners and Losers

2017’s assembly election winner, BJP’s V. D. Zalavadiya gained a vote share of 52.92% and defeated INC’s Ashok (Jiravala) whose vote share stood at 42.80%. The remaining candidate in the fray was AAAP’s Ram Dhaluk with 0.52% Vote share. 1.23% of votes were under NOTA.   

Voting History -2012 & 2017  

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Kamrej |Meradesh
Kamrej Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Assembly Election 2017 Winning Parties | Kamrej | Machine Dalal
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2012, BJP won the constituency and earned 126032 votes that increased to 147371 votes in 2017. On the other hand, INC garnered 64661 votes in 2012 and 119180 votes in 2017. AAAP got 1454 votes in 2017. BJP dominated the district of Surat in 2017 by winning 15 seats.  INC had to settle with 1 seat. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –