Assembly Constituency Watch: Ghatlodia


 Ghatlodia assembly constituency is located in Ahmedabad district and consists of:  

Ahmedabad City Taluka (Part) Villages – Tragad, Ghatlodiya (M), Memnagar (M). 

Daskroi Taluka (Part) Villages – Lapkaman, Lilapur, Khodiyar, Chharodi, Jagatpur, Hebatpur, Bhadaj, Shilaj, Chenpur, Oganaj, Ghuma, Sola, Bodakdev, Ambli, Gota (CT), Thaltej (CT), Bopal (CT). 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout | Ghatlodia | Machine Dalal
Ghatlodia Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2012 elections, the total number of electors was 286157 and the turnout stood at 72.60%, in real numbers- 207757 voters. 2017 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 352340 electors, 69.11% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-243519 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Party Wise Vote Share | Ghatlodia | Machine Dalal
Ghatlodia Candidates: Winners and Losers

2017’s assembly election winner, BJP’s Patel Bhupendrabhai Rajnikant gained a vote share of 72.13% and defeated INC’s Patel Shashikant Vasudevbhai whose vote share stood at 23.78%. The remaining candidate in the fray was BSP’s Thakor Budhaji Gabhaji with 0.45% Vote share. 1.71% of votes were under NOTA.   

Voting History -2012 & 2017  

Ghatlodia Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Ghatlodia Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Assembly Election 2017 Winning Parties | Ghatlodia | Machine Dalal
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2012, BJP won the constituency and earned 154599 votes that increased to 175652 votes in 2017. On the other hand, INC garnered 44204 votes in 2012 and 57902 votes in 2017. BJP dominated the district of Ahmedabad in 2017 by winning 15 seats. INC scored 6 seats. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh Platform app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with us to explore collaboration opportunities.  

Data Source –