Assembly Constituency Watch: Akota

During the 2012 elections, the total number of electors were 2,15,228 and the turnout stood at 68.74%, in real numbers- 1,47,945 voters. Voter engagement improved by 2017 elections, which witnessed a turnout increase; out of the 2,47,729 electors, 67.97% of voters exercised their constitutional rights which convert to 1,68,372 voters.    

2017’s assembly election winner, BJP’s Seemaben Mohile gained a vote share of 64.88% and defeated INC’s Ranjit Chavan whose vote share stood at 39.95%. The remaining candidate in the fray was NCP’s Nikhil Patel with 0.61% vote share- far lower than 1.51% votes under NOTA.  

In 2012, BJP earned 95,554 votes which increased to 1,09,244 votes in 2017. INC received 45,687 votes in 2012 and 52105 votes in 2017. NCP had no presence in 2012, and in 2017 it earned 1027 votes.    

In the district of Vadodara, BJP emerged dominant by winning 8 seats with 80% votes and INC came second with 20% votes and 2 seats.