Parliamentary Constituency Watch – Akbarpur

Akbarpur is one of the 80 Lok Sabha constituencies in Uttar Pradesh. It comprises 5 assembly constituencies and 2 districts. 

 The Akbarpur seat came into existence in 1962 and INC emerged as the winner that year. In the 1967 election, the Republic Party of India (RPOI) won the seat only to saw INC returning to power in 1971. The next two elections in 1977 and 1980 saw JP and JP (S) winning the seat respectively. In 1984, INC came back in power followed by JD winning the next two elections held in 1989 and 1991.  

 BSP managed to win the 1996 elections and remained in power till 2004 when it lost that year’s by-election to SP. INC managed to capture the seat in 2009 but it’s BJP that has emerged as the dominant party with two back-to-back wins in the 2014 and 2019 elections held in the constituency. 

Success Rate
Success Rate

In terms of success rate, it’s BSP that enjoyed the maximum success with 5.29% closely followed by INC at 4.24%. BJP’s success rate stands at 2.12% while SP managed to achieve 1.6% of success rate. 

 Stay updated on the electoral statistics for parliamentary constituencies and the changing dynamics on Meradesh App. Available on Appstore and Play Store.    

Reach your constituents, gain insights into their motivations, and build campaigns based on data-driven strategies with the Meradesh Platform.