Assembly Constituency Watch: Wadhwan


Wadhwan assembly constituency is located in Surendranagar district and consists of:  

Wadhwan Taluka 


Designated as a Scheduled Tribes Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Wadhwan | Machine Dalal
Wadhwan Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2012 elections, the total number of electors was 231001 and the constituency recorded a voter turnout that stood at 69.97%, in real numbers- 161631 voters. 2017 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 269165 electors, 64.88% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-174633 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Wadhwan | Machine Dalal
Wadhwan Electoral Turnout Rates

2017’s assembly election winner, BJP’s Dhanjibhai Patel (Makson) gained a vote share of 51.30% and defeated INC’s Patel Mohanbhai Dahyabhai whose vote share stood at 40.12%. The remaining candidates in the fray were independent candidate Vasani Charulata Akshaykumar with 1.54% vote share and BSP’s Mithapara Vashrambhai Bhavubhai with 1.25% of the vote share.   

Voting History -2012 & 2017 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Wadhwan |Meradesh
Wadhwan Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Assembly Eleaction 2017 Winning Parties | Wadhwan | Machine Dalal
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2012, BJP won the constituency and earned 83049 votes that increased to 89595 votes in 2017. On the other hand, INC garnered 65491 votes in 2012 and 70071 votes in 2017. BSP got 2179 votes in 2017 elections. INC dominated the district of Surendranagar in 2017 by winning 4 seats. The remaining 1 seat went to BJP. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –