Assembly Constituency Watch: Visnagar


Visnagar assembly constituency is located in Mahesana district and consists of:  

Visnagar Taluka 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Visnagar | Machine Dalal
Visnagar Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2012 elections, the total number of electors was 187953 and the constituency recorded a 75.15% of polling, in real numbers- 141242 voters. 2017 witnessed a turnout increase; out of the 211833 electors, 75.85% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers it was a reasonable jump-160685 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Visnagar | Machine Dalal
Visnagar Electoral Turnout Rates

2017’s assembly election winner, BJP’s Patel Rushikesh Ganeshbhai gained a vote share of 48.23% and defeated INC’s Patel Mahendrakumar S. (Mahesh Patel) whose vote share stood at 46.44%. The remaining candidate in the fray was independent candidate Patel Yateenkumar Hasmukhbhai (Tejash) with 0.65% vote share. 1.86% of votes were under NOTA.  bsp Parmar Nanjibhai Karsanbhai 

Voting History -2012 & 2017 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Visnagar |Meradesh
Visnagar Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Assembly Eleaction 2017 Winning Parties | Visnagar | Machine Dalal
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2012, BJP won the constituency and earned 76185 votes that increased to 77496 votes in 2017. On the other hand, INC garnered 74627 votes in 2017 elections. Overall, BJP dominated the district of Mahesana in 2017 by winning 5 seats. INC had to settle with 2 seats. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –