Assembly Constituency Watch: Viramgam


Viramgam assembly constituency is located in Ahmedabad district and consists of:  

  • Viramgam Taluka 
  • Detroj-Rampura Taluka 
  • Mandal Taluka 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Viramgam | Machine Dalal
Viramgam Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2012 elections, the total number of electors was 241217 and the turnout stood at 66.79%, in real numbers- 161100 voters. 2017 witnessed a turnout increase; out of the 271166 electors, 68.49% of voters chose to cast their vote. In real numbers it was a reasonable jump-185712 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Viramgam | Machine Dalal
Viramgam Electoral Turnout Rates

2017’s assembly election winner, INC’s Bharwad Lakhabhai Bhikhabhai gained a vote share of 41.02% and defeated BJP’s Dr. Tejshriben Dilipkumar Patel whose vote share stood at 37.49%. The remaining candidates in the fray were two independent candidates Jadav Dhruvkumar Bavalbhai with 6.50% vote share and Thakor Kunvarji Babaji with 5.83% of vote share. 

Voting History -2012 & 2017 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Viramgam |Meradesh
Viramgam Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Assembly Eleaction 2017 Winning Parties | Viramgam | Machine Dalal
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2012, INC won the constituency with votes and 2017 elections saw a decrease in the party’s vote count to 76178 votes but nevertheless it managed to retain the seat. On the other hand, BJP garnered 67947 votes in 2012 and 69630 votes in 2017. BJP dominated the district of Ahmedabad in 2017 by winning 15 seats. INC scored 6 seats. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –