Assembly Constituency Watch: Vejalpur


Vejalpur assembly constituency is located in Ahmedabad district and consists of:  

Ahmedabad City Taluka (Part) Villages – Vastrapur, Maktampur, Gyaspur, Vejalpur (M), Makarba (CT), Sarkhej-Okaf (M), Jodhpur (M). 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Vejalpur| Machine Dalal
Vejalpur Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2012 elections, the total number of electors was 273428 and the constituency recorded a voter turnout that stood at 71.38%, in real numbers- 195162 voters. 2017 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 326977 electors, 67.85% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-221863 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Vejalpur | Machine Dalal
Vejalpur Electoral Turnout Rates

2017’s assembly election winner, BJP’s Chauhan Kishor Babulal gained a vote share of 53.07% and defeated INC’s Shah Mihirbhai Subodhbhai whose vote share stood at 42.90%. The remaining candidate in the fray was BSP’s Solanki Vinodbhai Boghabhai with 0.43% vote share. 1.65% of votes were under NOTA.    

Voting History -2012 & 2017 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Vejalpur |Meradesh
Vejalpur Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Assembly Eleaction 2017 Winning Parties | Vejalpurv| Machine Dalal
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2012, BJP won the constituency and earned 113507 votes and 117748 votes in 2017. On the other hand, INC garnered 72522 votes in 2012 and 95181 votes in 2017. BSP got 947 votes in 2017 elections. BJP dominated the district of Ahmedabad in 2017 by winning 15 seats. INC had to be content with 6 seats. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –