Assembly Constituency Watch: Umerkote


Umerkote assembly constituency is located in Nabarangpur district and consists of:  

Umerkote, Raighar block and 8 Gram panchayats (Kurushi, Beheda, Kopena, Bakoda, Murtuma, Burja, Sunabeda and Semala) of Umerkote block. 


Designated as a Scheduled Tribes Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnaout | Umerkote | Machine Dalal
Umerkote Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 174180 and the turnout stood at 78.05%, in real numbers- 135943 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 193877 electors, 76.80% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers, though it was a reasonable jump-148907  voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnout |Umerkote | Machine Dalal
Umerkote Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJP’s Nityananda Gond gained a vote share of 40.20% and defeated BJD’s Subash Gond whose vote share stood at 33.60%. The remaining candidates in the fray were INC’s Jasoda Gond with 21.70% of vote share and BSP’s Sudar Bhatara with 2.50% vote share.  

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Umerkote |Meradesh
Umerkote Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Umerkote | Meradesh
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, BJD won the constituency and earned 50500 votes and 49973 votes in 2019. On the other hand, BJP garnered 21351 votes in 2014 and 59895 votes in 2019 while INC received 39978 votes in 2014 and 32343 votes in 2019. BSP got 3736 votes in the 2019 elections. BJD dominated the district of Nabarangpur in 2019 by winning 3 seats while 1 seat went to BJP.  

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –