Assembly Constituency Watch: Udala


Udala assembly constituency is located in Mayurbhanj district and consists of:  

Udala, Udala block, Gopabandhu Nagar block and 19 GPs (Badabisol, Badagudgudia, Badkhaladi, Chakradharpur, Devala, Jadida, Jambani, Jayantipatta, Samil, Jamudiha, Jhinkpada, Kaptipada, Koliolam, Majhigadia, Manakadpada, Nuddiha, Pedagadi, Pingu and Salchua) of Kaptipada block. 


Designated as a Scheduled Tribes Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnaout | Udala | Machine Dalal
Udala Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 171275 and the turnout stood at 80.55%, in real numbers- 137969 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 192678 electors, 78.39% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers, though it was a reasonable jump-151036 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnout |Udala | Machine Dalal
Udala Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJP’s Bhaskar Madhel gained a vote share of 46.20% and defeated BJD’s Srinath Soren whose vote share stood at 45.20%. The remaining candidates in the fray were INC’s Benudhar Mohapatra with 6.80% of vote share and RAIM’s Maya Tudu with 1.00% vote share.  

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Udala |Meradesh
Udala Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Udala | Meradesh
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, BJD won the constituency and earned 49628 votes and 68292 votes in 2019. On the other hand, BJP garnered 41099 votes in 2014 and 69725 votes in 2019 while INC received 23345 votes in 2014 and 10212 votes in 2019. RAIM got 1486 votes in the 2019 elections. BJP dominated the district of Mayurbhanj in 2019 by winning 6 seats whereas BJD won 3 seats. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –