Assembly Constituency Watch: Tharad


Tharad assembly constituency is located in Banaskantha district and consists of:  

Tharad Taluka 

Lakahni Taluka part 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Tharad | Machine Dalal
Tharad Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2012 elections, the total number of electors was 189236 and the turnout stood at 85.50%, in real numbers- 161800 voters. 2017 witnessed a turnout increase; out of the 209291 electors, 86.64% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers it was a reasonable jump-181322 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Tharad | Machine Dalal
Tharad Electoral Turnout Rates

2017’s assembly election winner, BJP’s Patel Parbatbhai Savabhai gained a vote share of 38.49% and defeated INC’s Rajput Damraji Devjibhai whose vote share stood at 32.02%. The remaining candidate in the fray was independent candidate Patel Mavjibhai Chatrabhai with 23.70% vote share. 1.50% of votes were under NOTA.   

Voting History -2012 & 2017 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Tharad |Meradesh
Tharad Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Assembly Eleaction 2017 Winning Parties | Tharad | Machine Dalal
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2012, BJP won the constituency and earned 68517 votes that increased to 69789 votes in 2017. On the other hand, INC garnered 65044 votes in 2012 and 58056 votes in 2017. BJP and INC manged to win 5 and 3 seats respecitively in the district of Banaskantha in 2017. The remaining 1 seat was won by an independent candidate. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –