Assembly Constituency Watch: Thakkarbapa Nagar


Thakkarbapa Nagar assembly constituency is located in Ahmedabad district and consists of:  

Ahmedabad City Taluka (Part) – Ahmedabad Municipal Corporation (Part) Ward No. – 22, 25, 26 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Thakkarbapa Nagar | Machine Dalal
Thakkarbapa Nagar Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2012 elections, the total number of electors was 205544 and the constituency witnessed a voter turnout that stood at 68.58%, in real numbers- 140972 voters. 2017 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 223432 electors, 66.39% chose to cast their vote. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-148345 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Thakkarbapa Nagar | Machine Dalal
Thakkarbapa Nagar Electoral Turnout Rates

2017’s assembly election winner,BJP’s Kakadiya Vallabhbhai Gobarbha gained a vote share of 59.40% and defeated INC’s Babubhai Mavjibhai Mangukiya whose vote share stood at 36.43%. The remaining candidate in the fray was BSP’s Panara Pradipkumar Vasharambhai with 0.66% vote share. 1.50% of votes were under NOTA.   

Voting History -2012 & 2017 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Thakkarbapa Nagar |Meradesh
Thakkarbapa Nagar Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Assembly Eleaction 2017 Winning Parties | Thakkarbapa Nagar | Machine Dalal
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2012, BJP won the constituency and earned 88731 votes and 88124 votes in 2017. On the other hand, INC garnered 39480 votes in 2012 and 54036 votes in 2017. BSP got 981 votes in 2017 elections. Overall BJP dominated the district of Ahmedabad in 2017 by winning 15 seats. INC managed to win 6 seats. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –