Assembly Constituency Watch: Telkoi


Telkoi assembly constituency is located in Kendujhar district and consists of:  

Telkoi block, Harichandanpur block and 16 GPs (Banspal, Baragarh, Bayakumutia, Gonasika, Jatra, Kalanda, Karangdihi, Kuanr, Nayakote, Phuljhar, Saharapur, Singhpur, Talakadakala, Tana, Taramakant and Uppar Raigoda) of Banspal block. 


Designated as a Scheduled Tribes Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnaout | Telkoi | Machine Dalal
Telkoi Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 199312 and the turnout stood at 84.23%, in real numbers- 167872 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 225361 electors, 76.46% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers, though it was a reasonable jump-172317 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnout |Telkoi | Machine Dalal
Telkoi Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJD’s Premananda Nayak gained a vote share of 43.00% and defeated BJP’s Dhanurjaya Sidu whose vote share stood at 39.60%. The remaining candidates in the fray were INC’s Prashant Kumar Dalei with 13.60% of vote share and HND’s Rabi Hasda with 1.10% vote share.  

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Telkoi |Meradesh
Telkoi Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Telkoi | Meradesh
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, BJD won the constituency and earned 66675 votes and 74148 votes in 2019. On the other hand, BJP garnered 21018 votes in 2014 and 68228 votes in 2019 while INC received 52721 votes in 2014 and 23508 votes in 2019. HND got 1853 votes in the 2019 elections. BJD dominated the district of Kendujhar in 2019 by winning 5 seats whereas 1 seat was won by BJP. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –