Assembly Constituency Watch: Tankara


Tankara assembly constituency is located in Morbi district and consists of:  

Tankara Taluka 

Morbi Taluka (Part) Villages – Mansar, Naranka, Pipaliya, Virparda, Hajnali, Modpar, Lutavadar, Barvala, Khevaliya, Khakhrala, Vanaliya, Khareda, Andarna, Vankda, Pipali, Gor Khijadia, Jepur, Bagathala, Biliya, Kantipur, Manekvada, Nagalpar, Nani Vavdi, Ghuntu, Unchi Mandal, Nichi Mandal, Kalikanagar, Lakhdhirpur, Lalpar, Panchasar, Amrapar Nag, Moti Vavdi, Khanpar, Chanchapar, Thorala, Rajpar, Saktasanala, Jodhpur Nadi, Jambudiya, Paneli, Gidach, Makansar, Adepar, Lakhdhirnagar, Lilapar, Ghunada Sajanpar, Ravapara, Vajepar 

Paddhari Taluka – Entire taluka except villages – Khokhri, Jivapar 

Lodhika Taluka (Part) Village – Und Khijadiya 

Dhrol Taluka (Part) of Jamnagar District Villages – Chhalla, Golita 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Tankara | Machine Dalal
Tankara Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2012 elections, the total number of electors was 196679 and the turnout stood at 76.35%, in real numbers- 150173 voters. 2017 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 224579 electors, 74.77% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-167913 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Tankara | Machine Dalal
Tankara Electoral Turnout Rates

2017’s assembly election winner, INC’s Kagathara Lalitbhai gained a vote share of 56.03% and defeated BJP’s Raghavajibhai Jivarajbhai Gadara whose vote share stood at 38.31%. The remaining candidate in the fray was BSP’s Shekhva Veljibhai Nathubhai with 1.17% vote share. 1.72% of votes were under NOTA.   

Voting History -2012 & 2017 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Tankara |Meradesh
Tankara Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Assembly Eleaction 2017 Winning Parties | Tankara| Machine Dalal
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2012, BJP won the constituency with 63630 votes that slightly increased to 64320 votes in 2017 but were not enough to retain the seat. On the other hand, INC garnered 48223 votes in 2012 and 94090 votes to win in 2017. BSP got 1971 votes in 2017 elections. INC clean swept the district of Morbi in 2017 by registering a victory in all 3 seats. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –