Assembly Constituency Watch: Talaja


Talaja assembly constituency is located in Bhavnagar district and consists of:  

Talaja Taluka 

Ghogha Taluka (Part) Village – Lakadiya. 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Talala | Machine Dalal
Talaja Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2012 elections, the total number of electors was 190949 and the constituency recorded a voter turnout that stood at 66.53%, in real numbers- 127036 voters. 2017 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 222131 electors, 64.70% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-143711 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Talala | Machine Dalal
Talaja Electoral Turnout Rates

2017’s assembly election winner, INC’s Kanubhai Mathurambhai Baraiya gained a vote share of 46.53% and defeated BJP’s Chauhan Gautambhai Gopabhai whose vote share stood at 45.29%. The remaining candidate in the fray was VPP’s Kishorbhai Rudabhai Vaghela with 0.97% vote share. 2.03% of votes were under NOTA.   

Voting History -2012 & 2017 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Talala |Meradesh
Talaja Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Assembly Eleaction 2017 Winning Parties | Talala | Machine Dalal
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2012, BJP won the constituency and earned 66357 votes and 65083 votes in 2017. On the other hand, INC garnered 33513 votes in 2012 and 66862 votes in 2017. VPP got 1393 votes in 2017 elections. BJP dominated the district of Bhavnagar in 2017 by winning 6 seats. The remaining 1 seat went to INC. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –