Assembly Constituency Watch: Surat North


Surat North assembly constituency is located in Surat district and consists of:  

Surat City Taluka (Part) – Surat Municipal Corporation (Part) Ward No. – 4, 6, 7, 29, 31, 32. 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Surat North | Machine Dalal
Surat North Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2012 elections, the total number of electors was 152013 and the turnout stood at 67.97%, in real numbers- 103330 voters. 2017 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 157251 electors, 64.16% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers it translates to 100897 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout |Surat North | Machine Dalal
Surat North Electoral Turnout Rates

2017’s assembly election winner, BJP’s Balar Kantibhai Himmatbhai gained a vote share of 58.27% and defeated INC’s Kachhadiya Dineshbhai Manubhai whose vote share stood at 38.42%. The remaining candidate in the fray was AINHCP’s Solanki Riteshbhai Nareshbhai with 0.52% vote share. 0.90% of votes were under NOTA.   

Voting History -2012 & 2017 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Surat North |Meradesh
Surat North Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Assembly Eleaction 2017 Winning Parties | Surat North | Machine Dalal
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2012, BJP won the constituency and earned 59690 votes and 58788 votes in 2017. On the other hand, INC garnered 37656 votes in 2012 and 38766 votes in 2017. AINHCP got 522 votes in 2017 elections. BJP dominated the district of Surat in 2017 by winning 15 seats.  The remaining 1 seat was secured by INC. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –