Assembly Constituency Watch: Sukinda


Sukinda assembly constituency is located in Jajapur district and consists of:  

Sukinda block and Danagadi block. 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnaout | Sukinda | Machine Dalal
Sukinda Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 173721 and the turnout stood at 83.98 %, in real numbers- 145890 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 201564 electors, 79.32% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers, though it was a reasonable jump-159881  voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnout |Sukinda | Machine Dalal
Sukinda Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJD’s Pritiranjan Gharai gained a vote share of 48.50% and defeated BJP’s Pradeep Bal Samanta whose vote share stood at 38.00%. The remaining candidates in the fray were INC’s Sarat Rout with 11.70% of vote share and BMUP’s Brajamohan Hembram with 0.30% vote share.  

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Sukinda |Meradesh
Sukinda Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Sukinda | Meradesh
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, BJD won the constituency and earned 58122 votes and 77510 votes in 2019. On the other hand, INC garnered 53418 votes in 2014 and 18619 votes in 2019 while BJP and BMUP received 60780 votes and 519 votes respectively in the 2019 elections. BJD clean swept the 2019 elections in the district of Jajpur by winning all 7 seats. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –