Assembly Constituency Watch: Somnath


Somnath assembly constituency is located in Gir Somnath district and consists of:  

Veraval Taluka 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Somnath | Machine Dalal
Somnath Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2012 elections, the total number of electors was 205796 and the constituency recorded 76.74% polling, in real numbers- 157925 voters. 2017 witnessed a negligible decrease in turnout; out of the 235083 electors, 76.52% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers it translates to 179881 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout |Somnath | Machine Dalal
Somnath Electoral Turnout Rates

2017’s assembly election winner, INC’s Chudasama Vimalbhai Kanabhai gained a vote share of 52.76% and defeated BJP’s Jashabhai Bhanabhai Barad whose vote share stood at 41.40%. The remaining candidate in the fray was BSP’s Shahmadar Hanifsha Remansha with 0.90% vote share. 2.14% of votes were under NOTA.   

Voting History -2012 & 2017 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Somnath |Meradesh
Somnath Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Assembly Eleaction 2017 Winning Parties | Somnath | Machine Dalal
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2012, INC won the constituency and earned 56701 votes that increased to 94914 votes in 2017. On the other hand, BJP garnered 54605 votes in 2012 and 74464 votes in 2017. BSP got 1612 votes in 2017. INC dominated the district of Gir Somnath in 2017 by clinching victory in all 4 seats.   

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –