Assembly Constituency Watch: Savarkundla


Savarkundla assembly constituency is located in Amreli district and consists of:  

Savarkundla Taluka 

Lilia Taluka – Entire taluka except villages – Kankot Nana, Rajkot Nana 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Savarkundla | Machine Dalal
Savarkundla Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2012 elections, the total number of electors was 211793 and the constituency witnessed 62.09%, in real numbers- 131505 voters. 2017 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 238362 electors, 56.82% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-135434 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnout |Savarkundla | Machine Dalal
Savarkundla Electoral Turnout Rates

2017’s assembly election winner, INC’s Pratap Dudhat gained a vote share of 49.00% and defeated BJP’s Kamlesh Rasikbhai Kanani whose vote share stood at 42.70%. The remaining candidate in the fray was BSP’s Khimsuriya Rameshkumar Shamjibhai with 1.11% vote share. 2.21% of votes were under NOTA.   

Voting History -2012 & 2017 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Savarkundla |Meradesh
Savarkundla Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Assembly Eleaction 2017 Winning Parties | Savarkundla | Machine Dalal
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2012, BJP won the constituency and earned 37246 votes that increased to 57835 votes in 2017 but proved insufficient to retain the seat. On the other hand, INC garnered 34862 votes in 2012 and increased its count to 66366 votes in 2017 to came as triumphant. BSP got 1505 votes in 2017 elections. INC clean swept the district of Amreli in 2017 by winning all 5 seats.  

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –