Assembly Constituency Watch: Saraskana


Saraskana assembly constituency is located in Mayurbhanj district and consists of:  

Saraskana block, Bijatala block, Bisoi block and 3 GPs (Jaypur, Kusumi and Mayurdar) of Kusumi block. 


Designated as a Scheduled Tribes Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnaout | Saraskana | Machine Dalal
Saraskana Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 182776 and the turnout stood at 79.74%, in real numbers- 145751 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 204128 electors, 74.94% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers, though it was a reasonable jump-152978 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnout |Saraskana | Machine Dalal
Saraskana Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJP’s Dr. Budhan Murmu gained a vote share of 34.80% and defeated BJD’s Amar Singh Tudu whose vote share stood at 30.30%. The remaining candidates in the fray were JMM’s Mahesh Chandra Hembram with 22.80% of vote share and independent candidate Er. Rama Chandra Hansdah with 6.60% vote share.  

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Saraskana |Meradesh
Saraskana Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Saraskana | Meradesh
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, BJD won the constituency and earned 46867 votes and 46384 votes in 2019. On the other hand, BJP garnered 23447 votes in 2014 and 53197 votes in 2019 while JMM received 43028 votes in 2014 and 34831 votes in 2019. BJP dominated the district of Mayurbhanj in 2019 by winning 6 seats. BJD won 3 seats. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –