Assembly Constituency Watch: Sanakhemundi


Sanakhemundi assembly constituency is located in Ganjam district and consists of:  

Sanakhemundi block and Dharakote block. 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnaout | Sanakhemundi | Machine Dalal
Sanakhemundi Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 197708 and the turnout stood at 66.343%, in real numbers- 131164voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 216288electors, 67.08% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers, though it was a reasonable jump-145080 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnout |Sanakhemundi | Machine Dalal
Sanakhemundi Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, INC’s Ramesh Chandra Jena gained a vote share of 51.70% and defeated BJD’s Nandini Devi whose vote share stood at 35.40%. The remaining candidates in the fray were BJP’s Bijaya Kumar Swain with 10.60% of vote share and independent candidate Pratap Chandra Pradhan with 1.40% vote share.  

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Sanakhemundi |Meradesh
Sanakhemundi Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Sanakhemundi | Meradesh
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, BJD won the constituency and earned 61773 votes and 51294 votes in 2019. On the other hand, INC garnered 53351 votes in 2014 and 75021 votes in 2019 while BJP received 6035 in 2014 and 15335 votes in 2019. BJD dominated the district of Ganjam in 2019 by winning 12 seats whereas INC managed to secure 1 seat. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –