Assembly Constituency Watch: Salipur


Salipur assembly constituency is located in Cuttack district and consists of:  

Salepur block and 11 Gram panchayats (Govindpur, Jaripada, Harianta, Napanga, Bhatimunda, Kanheipur, Uchapada, Kotsahi, Garudagaon, Safa and Salagaon) of Tangi-Chowdwar block. 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnaout | Salipur | Machine Dalal
Salipur Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 210785 and the turnout stood at 79.82%, in real numbers- 168247 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 240062 electors, 76.80% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers, though it was a reasonable jump-184360 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnout |Rourkela | Machine Dalal
Rourkela Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJD’s Prasanta Behera gained a vote share of 56.50% and defeated BJP’s Prakash Chandra Behera whose vote share stood at 39.00%. The remaining candidates in the fray were INC’s Rabindra Nath Kar with 3.00% of vote share and BSP’s Jasobanta Jena with 0.40% vote share.  

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Salipur |Meradesh
Salipur Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Salipur | Meradesh
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, INC won the constituency and earned 78343 votes and 5520 votes in 2019. On the other hand, BJD garnered 76226 votes in 2014 and 104154 votes in 2019 while BJP received 7712 votes in 2014 and 71944 votes in 2019. BSP got 744 votes in the 2019 elections. BJD dominated the district of Cuttack in 2019 by winning 8 seats while 1 seat was secured by INC. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –