Assembly Constituency Watch: Sabarmati


 Sabarmati assembly constituency is located in Ahmedabad district and consists of:  

Ahmedabad City Taluka (Part) Villages – Kali (M), Ranip (M), Chandlodiya (M). 

Ahmedabad City Taluka (Part) – Ahmedabad Municipal Corporation (Part) Ward No. – 15. 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Sabarmati | Machine Dalal
Sabarmati Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2012 elections, the total number of electors was 215978 and the constituency recorded a voter turnout that stood at 70.38%, in real numbers- 151999 voters. 2017 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 253585 electors, 66.39% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-168348 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnout |Sabarmati | Machine Dalal
Sabarmati Electoral Turnout Rates

2017’s assembly election winner, BJP’s Arvidkumar Gandalal Patel (Dalal) gained a vote share of 67.42% and defeated INC’s Dr. Jitubhai Patel whose vote share stood at 26.55%. The remaining candidate in the fray was independent candidate Valajibhai Odharbhai Desai with 1.11% vote share. 1.70% of votes were under NOTA.   

Voting History -2012 & 2017 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Sabarmati |Meradesh
Sabarmati Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Assembly Eleaction 2017 Winning Parties | Sabarmati | Machine Dalal
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2012, BJP won the constituency and earned 107036 votes that increased to 113503 votes in 2017. On the other hand, INC garnered 39453 votes in 2012 and 44693 votes in 2017. BJP dominated the district of Ahmedabad in 2017 by 15 seats.  INC had to settle with 6 seats. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –