Assembly Constituency Watch: Rourkela


Rourkela assembly constituency is located in Sundargarh district and consists of:  

Rourkela, Kulunga (O.G) and two Gram panchayats of Bisra block. 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Rourkela | Machine Dalal
Rourkela Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 185295 and the turnout stood at 66.55%, in real numbers- 123320 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 206037electors, 62.04% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers, though it was a reasonable jump-127826 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Rourkela | Machine Dalal
Rourkela Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJD’s Sarada Prasad Nayak gained a vote share of 47.60% and defeated BJP’s Nihar Ray whose vote share stood at 39.40%. The remaining candidates in the fray were INC’s Biren Senapaty with 10.90% of vote share and independent candidate Bikash Mansingh with 0.50% vote share.  

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Rourkela |Meradesh
Rourkela Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Rourkela | Meradesh
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, BJP won the constituency and earned 59653 votes and 50417 votes in 2019. On the other hand, BJD garnered 48724 votes in 2014 and 60877 votes in 2019 whle INC received 10397 votes in 2014 and 13977 votes in 2019. BJP dominated the district of Sundargarh in 2019 by winning 3 seats while BJD won 2 seats. INC and CPI (M) both won 1 seat each that year. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –