Assembly Constituency Watch: Remuna


Remuna assembly constituency is located in Baleshwar district and consists of:  

Remuna block and 9 GPs (Ransahi, Gudu, Padmapur, Saragan, Genguti, Sasanga, Rasalpur, Jayadevkasba and Hidigan) of Balasore block. 


Designated as a Scheduled Castes Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Remuna | Machine Dalal
Remuna Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 195433 and the turnout stood at 76.25%, in real numbers- 149022 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 223974 electors, 73.89% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers, though it was a reasonable jump-165493 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Remuna | Machine Dalal
Remuna Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJD’s Sudhansu Sekhar Parida gained a vote share of 47.80% and defeated BJP’s Gobinda Chandra Das whose vote share stood at 45.30%. The remaining candidates in the fray were INC’s Pratap Kumar Sethi with 5.70% of vote share and AITC’s Bidhan Chandra Jena with 0.50% vote share.    

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Remuna |Meradesh
Remuna Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Remuna | Meradesh
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, BJP won the constituency and earned 70973 votes and 74979 votes in 2019. On the other hand, BJD garnered 57144 votes in 2014 and 79097 votes in 2019 while INC received 13716 votes in 2014 and 9454 votes in 2019. AITC got 812 votes in the 2019 elections. BJD dominated the district of Baleshwar in 2019 by winning 6 seats. BJP managed to win 2 seats. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –