Assembly Constituency Watch: Rayagada


Rayagada assembly constituency is located in Rayagada district and consists of:  

Rayagada, Rayagada block and Kashipur block. 


Designated as a Scheduled Tribes Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Rayagada | Machine Dalal
Rayagada Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 215469 and the turnout stood at 77.96%, in real numbers- 167972 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 237180 electors, 71.24% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers, though it was a reasonable jump-168977 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Rayagada | Machine Dalal
Rayagada Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, independent candidate Makaranda Muduli gained a vote share of 31.30% and defeated BJD’s Lal Bihari Himirika whose vote share stood at 28.40%. The remaining candidates in the fray were INC’s Kadraka Appalaswamy with 23.50% of vote share and BJP’s Basanta Kumar Ullaka with 14.50% vote share.  

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Rayagada |Meradesh
Rayagada Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Rayagada | Meradesh
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, BJD won the constituency and earned 69629 votes and 47974 votes in 2019. On the other hand, INC garnered 61343 votes in 2014 and 39657 votes in 2019 while BJP received 17356 votes in 2014 and 24425 votes in 2019. BJD dominated the district of Rayagada in 2019 by winning 2 seats and the remaining 1 seat went to an independent candidate. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –