Assembly Constituency Watch: Rajkot South


Rajkot South assembly constituency is located in Rajkot district and consists of:  

Rajkot Taluka (Part) – Rajkot Municipal Corporation (Part) Ward No. – 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10. 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Rajkot South| Machine Dalal
Rajkot South Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2012 elections, the total number of electors was 211819 and the constituency witnessed a voter turnout of 64.65%, in real numbers- 136938 voters. 2017 witnessed a increase in turnout; out of the 242500 electors, 64.89% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-157363 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Rajkot South Electoral Turnout Rates
Rajkot South Electoral Turnout Rates

2017’s assembly election winner, BJP’s Govindbhai Patel gained a vote share of 62.88% and defeated INC’s Dr. Dinesh Chovatiya whose vote share stood at 32.94%. The remaining candidate in the fray was BSP’s Anju Padaliya with 0.97% vote share. 1.43% of votes were under NOTA.   

Voting History -2012 & 2017 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Rajkot Rural |Meradesh
Rajkot South Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Assembly Eleaction 2017 Winning Parties | Rajkot South | Machine Dalal
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2012, BJP won the constituency and earned 77308 votes that increased to 98951 votes in 2017. On the other hand, INC garnered 48831 votes in 2012 and 51830 votes in 2017. BSP got 1528 votes in 2017. BJP dominated the district of Rakot in 2017 by winning 6 seats. INC managed to win 2 seats. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –