Assembly Constituency Watch: Rajkot East


Rajkot East assembly constituency is located in Rajkot district and consists of:  

Rajkot Taluka (Part) – Rajkot Municipal Corporation (Part) Ward No. – 5, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20. 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Rajkot East| Machine Dalal
Rajkot East Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2012 elections, the total number of electors was 210217 and the turnout stood at 69.01%, in real numbers- 145066 voters. 2017 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 260007electors, 67.54% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-175605 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Rajkot East Electoral Turnout Rates
Rajkot East Electoral Turnout Rates

2017’s assembly election winner, BJP’s Arvind Raiyani gained a vote share of 53.01% and defeated INC’s Mitul Donga whose vote share stood at 40.04%. The remaining candidate in the fray was BSP’s Gohel Madhubhai Arjanbhai with 1.27% vote share. 2.04% of votes were under NOTA.   

Voting History -2012 & 2017 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Rajkot East |Meradesh
Rajkot East Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Assembly Eleaction 2017 Winning Parties | Rajkot East | Machine Dalal
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2012, INC won the constituency and earned 60877 votes that did increase to 70305 votes in 2017 but were insufficient to regain the seat for the party. On the other hand, BJP garnered 56605 votes in 2012 and significantly increased its share to 93087 votes in 2017 and went on to win the elections. BSP got 2236 votes in 2017 elsections. BJP dominated the district of Rajkot in 2017 by winning 6 seats. INC scored 2 seats. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –