Assembly Constituency Watch: Rairangpur


Rairangpur assembly constituency is located in Mayurbhanj district and consists of:  

Rairangpur, Rairangpur block, Bahalda block, Jamda block and Tiring block. 


Designated as a Scheduled Tribes Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Rairangpur | Machine Dalal
Rairangpur Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 209938 and the turnout stood at 74.32%, in real numbers- 156035 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 234967 electors, 68.57% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers, though it was a reasonable jump-161124 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Rairangpur | Machine Dalal
Rairangpur Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJP’s Naba Charan Majhi gained a vote share of 37.80% and defeated BJD’s Basanti Marndi whose vote share stood at 36.00%. The remaining candidates in the fray were JMM’s Ram Chandra Murmu with 18.90% of vote share and independent candidate Minati Hansdah with 3.20% vote share.  

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Rairangpur |Meradesh
Rairangpur Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Rairangpur | Meradesh
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, BJD won the constituency and earned 51062 votes and 58054 votes in 2019. On the other hand, BJP garnered 35506 votes in 2014 and 60901 votes in 2019 while JMM received 28838 votes in 2014 and 30512 votes in 2019. BJP dominated the district of Mayurbhanj in 2019 by winning 6 seats while BJD secured 3 seats. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –