Assembly Constituency Watch: Puri


Puri assembly constituency is located in Puri district and consists of:  

Puri, 15 Gram panchayats (Birapratappur, Balipada, Jamarsuan, Baliput, Raigoroda, Garhmrugasira, Chalisbatia, Malatipatpur, Chandanpur, Sasandamodarpur, Samanga, Gopinathpur, Harekrushnapur, Baliguali and Talajanga) of Puri sadar block and three GPs (Itibhuan, Garhbhingura and Chhaitana) of Gop block 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Puri | Machine Dalal
Puri Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 224185 and the turnout stood at 64.07%, in real numbers- 143627 voters. 2019 witnessed a slight turnout decrease; out of the 243426 electors, 63.44% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers, though it was a reasonable jump-154441 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Puri | Machine Dalal
Puri Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJP’s Jayanta Kumar Sarangi gained a vote share of 49.70% and defeated BJD’s Maheswar Mohanty whose vote share stood at 47.10%. The remaining candidates in the fray were INC’s Auro Prasad Mishra with 1.90% of vote share and BSP’s Suchendra Bhoi with 0.60% vote share.  

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Puri |Meradesh
Puri Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Puri | Meradesh
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, BJD won the constituency and earned 76760 votes and 72739 votes in 2019. On the other hand, BJP garnered 17560 votes in 2014 and 76747 votes in 2019 while INC received 42039 votes in 2014 and 2934 votes in 2019. BSP got 856 votes in the 2019 elections. BJD dominated the district of Puri in 2019 by winning 4 seats. BJP managed to win 2 seats. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –