Assembly Constituency Watch: Pottangi


Pottangi assembly constituency is located in Koraput district and consists of:  

Damanjodi, Pottangi block, Nandapur block, Semiliguda block and 3 Gram panchayats (Litiguda, Dumuripadar and Mathalput) of Koraput block. 


Designated as a Scheduled Tribes Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Pottangi | Machine Dalal
Pottangi Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 173106 and the turnout stood at 71.01%, in real numbers- 122928 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout increase; out of the 191207 electors, 73.27% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers, it was a reasonable jump-140097 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Pottangi | Machine Dalal
Pottangi Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJD’s Pitam Padhi gained a vote share of 36.60% and defeated INC’s Rama Chandra Kadam whose vote share stood at 33.50%. The remaining candidates in the fray were BJP’s Rama Chandra Pangi with 18.50% of vote share and independent candidate Nandibali Chaitanya with 5.90% vote share.  

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Pottangi |Meradesh
Pottangi Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Pottangi | Meradesh
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, BJD won the constituency and earned 46839 votes and 51244 votes in 2019. On the other hand, INC garnered 36075 votes in 2014 and 46989 votes in 2019 while BJP received 9401 votes in 2014 and 25956 votes in 2019. BJD dominated the district of Koraput in 2019 by winning 4 seats while INC won 1 seat. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –