Assembly Constituency Watch: Parjanga


Parjanga assembly constituency is located in Dhelkanal district and consists of:  

Parjang block, Kankadahada block and 5 GPs (Kusumajodi, Kantapal, Tumusinga, Kantiokateni and Kantioputasahi) of Kamakshyanagar block. 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Parjanga | Machine Dalal
Parjanga Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 189705 and the turnout stood at 79.64%, in real numbers- 151084 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 213742 electors, 77.80% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers, though it was a reasonable jump-166284 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Parjanga | Machine Dalal
Parjanga Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJD’s Nrusingha Charan Sahu gained a vote share of 47.40 % and defeated BJP’s Bibhuti Bhusan Pradhan whose vote share stood at 46.90%. The remaining candidates in the fray were INC’s Jasaswini Rout with 4.10% of vote share and HND’s Dibyajyoti Nayak with 0.60% vote share.  

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Parjanga |Meradesh
Parjanga Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Parjanga | Meradesh
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, BJD won the constituency and earned 60523 votes and 78747 votes in 2019. On the other hand, BJP garnered 57471 votes in 2014 and 78007 votes in 2019 while INC received 18240 votes in 2014 and 6795 votes in 2019. HND got 1024 votes in the 2019 elections. BJD completely dominated the district of Dhenkanal in 2019 by winning all 4 seats.   

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –