Assembly Constituency Watch: Paralakhemundi


Paralakhemundi assembly constituency is located in Gajapati district and consists of:  

Paralakhemundi, Kashinagara, Paralakhemundi block, Gumma block and Kashinagara block. 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Paralakhemundi Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 194115 and the turnout stood at 69.55%, in real numbers- 135001 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 210530 electors, 68.39% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers, though it was a reasonable jump-143983  voters.    

Representation and Results  

Paralakhemundi Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJP’s K. Narayana Rao gained a vote share of 36.40% and defeated independent candidate Tirupati Panigrahi whose vote share stood at 25.80%. The remaining candidates in the fray were BJD’s Kalyani Gajapathi with 18.50% of vote share and INC’s K. Surya Rao with 16.70% vote share.  

Voting History -2014& 2019 

Paralakhemundi Voter’s Choice Over the Years
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, INC won the constituency and earned 61014 votes and 24024 votes in 2019. On the other hand, BJP garnered 6938 votes in 2014 and 52415 votes in 2019 while BJD received 59595 votes in 2014 and 26645 votes in 2019. BJP and INC both managed to win 1 seat each in the district of Gajapati in 2019.  

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –