Assembly Constituency Watch: Paradeep


Paradeep assembly constituency is located in Jagatsinghpur district and consists of:  

Paradeep, Kujang block and 7 Gram panchayats (Amberi, Kolar, Samantarapur, Poragadei, Manijanga, Bodhei and Jadatira) of Tirtol block. 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Paradeep Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 189500 and the turnout stood at 76.02%, in real numbers- 144055 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 211830 electors, 73.51% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers, though it was a reasonable jump-155713 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Paradeep Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJD’s Sambit Routray gained a vote share of 44.90% and defeated INC’s Arindam Sarkhel whose vote share stood at 31.40%. The remaining candidates in the fray were BJP’s Sampad Chandra Swain with 22.50 of vote share and BSP’s Anjan Mallick with 0.40% vote share.  

Voting History -2014& 2019 

Paradeep Voter’s Choice Over the Years
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, BJD won the constituency and earned 85206 votes and 69871 votes in 2019. On the other hand, INC garnered 46606 votes in 2014 and 48879 votes in 2019 while BJP received 5832 votes in 2014 and 35037 votes in 2019. BSP got 669 votes in the 2019 elections. BJD completely dominated the district of Jagatsinghpur in 2019 by winning all 4 seats.   

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –