Assembly Constituency Watch: Pallahara


Pallahara assembly constituency is located in Angul district and consists of:  

Pallahara block and 19 GPs (Balipasi, Kuluma, Rengali, Susuba, Arkil, Gandamula, Bajrakote, Hanumanpur, Dalaka, Karnapal, Parabil, Burukuna, Kulei, Deranga, Kakudia, Talapada, Biru, Hariharapur and Samal) of Kaniha block. 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Pallahara Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 154122 and the turnout stood at 83.02%, in real numbers- 127958 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 170045 electors, 80.22% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers, though it was a reasonable jump-136406voters.    

Representation and Results  

Pallahara Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJD’s Mukesh Kumar Pal gained a vote share of 43.50% and defeated BJP’s Ashok Mohanty whose vote share stood at 39.00%. The remaining candidates in the fray were INC’s Subrat Garnayak with 9.00% of voter share and independent candidate Sundeep Kumar Prahdhan with 3.40% vote share.  

Voting History -2014& 2019 

Pallahara Voter’s Choice Over the Years
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, BJD won the constituency and earned 44264 votes and 59350 votes in 2019. On the other hand, BJP garnered 38970 votes in 2014 and 53136 votes in 2019 while INC received 18487 votes in 2014 and 12266 votes in 2019. BJD completely dominated the district of Angul in 2019 by winning all 5 seats.   

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –