Assembly Constituency Watch: Nilgiri 


Nilgiri assembly constituency is located in Baleshwar district and consists of:  

Nilagiri, Nilgiri block, Oupada block and 4 GPs (Kasabajayapur, Khantapada, Panapana and Patharpentha) of Bahanaga block. 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Nilgiri Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 180686 and the turnout stood at 77.73%, in real numbers- 140456 voters. 2019 witnessed a slight turnout decrease; out of the 203431 electors, 76.48% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-15557 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Nilgiri Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJP’s Sukanta Kumar Nayak gained a vote share of 44.70% and defeated BJD’s Santosh Khatua whose vote share stood at 43.70%. The remaining candidates in the fray were INC’s Manoj Manjari Debi with 8.00% of vote share and CPI (M)’s Jogananda Dash with 2.20% vote share.  

Voting History -2014& 2019 

Nilgiri Voter’s Choice Over the Years
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, BJD won the constituency and earned 50514 votes and 67940 votes in 2019. On the other hand, BJP garnered 36814 votes in 2014 and 69517 votes in 2019 while INC received 32360 votes in 2014 and 12413 votes in 2019. CPI (M ) got 17018 votes in 2014 and 3394 votes in 2019. BJD dominated the district of Baleshwar in 2019 by winning 6 seats. BJP won 2 seats. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –