Assembly Constituency Watch: Nayagarh 


Nayagarh assembly constituency is located in Nayagarh district and consists of:  

Nayagarh, Nayagarh block and 18 Gram panchayats (Sunamuhin, Panderipada, Giridipali, Kurala, Rabigadia, Pantikhari, Korapitha, Sakeri, Sardhapur, Bhadikila,Nandighora,Arada Goudaput, Komanda, Rohibanka, Banthapur, Rabara,Ranganipatna and odagaon nac of odagaon Block. 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Nayagarh Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 193767 and the turnout stood at 73.86%, in real numbers- 143123 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 225085 electors, 68.76% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers, though it was a reasonable jump-154772 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Nayagarh Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJD’s Aruna Kumar Sahoo gained a vote share of 52.70% and defeated BJP’s Irani Ray whose vote share stood at 43.10%. The remaining candidates in the fray were INC’s Manoj Kumar Sahoo with 2.70% of vote share and APOI’s Subhalaxmi Dash with 0.40% vote share.  

Voting History -2014& 2019 

Nayagarh Voter’s Choice Over the Years
District-Wise Electoral Results


In 2014, BJD won the constituency and earned 75538 votes and 81592 votes in 2019. On the other hand, INC garnered 54671 votes in 2014 and 4229 votes in 2019 while BJP received 7521 votes in 2014 and 66737 votes in 2019. APOI got 597 votes in the 2019 elections. BJD completely dominated the district of Nayagarh in 2019 by winning all 4 seats.   

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –