Assembly Constituency Watch: Narla 


Narla assembly constituency is located in Kalahandi district and consists of:  

Narla block, Karlamunda block, Madanpur-Rampur block and 9 Gram panchayats (Salepali, Belkhandi, Hatikhoj, Kantesir, Kashurpada, Nunmath, Paralsingha, Sirjapalli, Tundla and Turlakhman) of Kesinga block. 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Narla Electoral Turnout Rates
Narla Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 196429 and the turnout stood at 76.62%, in real numbers- 150496 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout increase; out of the 216619 electors, 78.43% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers, it was a reasonable jump-169903 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Narla Electoral Turnout Rates


2019’s assembly election winner, BJD’s Bhupinder Singh gained a vote share of 31.40% and defeated BJP’s Aniruddha Padhan whose vote share stood at 26.00%. The remaining candidates in the fray were INC’s Chittaranjan Mandal with 21.00% of votes share and independent candidate Durga Prasad Mohanty with 13.00% vote share.  

Voting History -2014& 2019 

Narla Voter’s Choice Over the Years
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, BJD won the constituency and earned 56783 votes and 53264 votes in 2019. On the other hand, INC garnered 41015 votes in 2014 and 35753 votes in 2019 while BJP received 31809 votes in 2014 and 44244 votes in 2019. BJD dominated the district of Kalahandi in 2019 by winning 4 seats while BJP won the remaining 1 seat. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –