Assembly Constituency Watch: Mangrol (Surat)


 Mangrol assembly constituency is located in Surat district and consists of:  

Mangrol Taluka 

Umarpada Taluka 


Designated as a Scheduled Tribes Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Mangrol (Surat) | Machine Dalal
Mangrol (Surat) Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2012 elections, the total number of electors was 173952 and the constituency recorded a voter turnout of 80.74%, in real numbers- 140452 voters. 2017 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 200778electors, 78.05% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-156715 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Mangrol (Surat) Electoral Turnout Rates
Mangrol (Surat) Electoral Turnout Rates

2017’s assembly election winner, BJP’s Vasava Ganpatsinh Vestabhai gained a vote share of 58.14% and defeated Vasava Nansingbhai Nandariabhai whose vote share stood at 32.11%. The remaining candidates in the fray were BTP’s Vasava Utambhai Somabhai with 4.58% and NCP’s Jagatsinh Laljibhai Vasava with 1.64% of vote share.  

Voting History -2012 & 2017 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Mangrol (Surat) |Meradesh
Mangrol (Surat) Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Assembly Election 2017 Winning Parties | Mangrol (Surat)| Machine Dalal
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2012, BJP won the constituency and earned 79255 votes that increased to 91114 votes in 2017. On the other hand, INC garnered 48149 votes in 2012 and 50315 votes in 2017. BTP and NCP got 7183 and 2569 votes respectively in 2017 election. BJP dominated the district of Surat in 2017 by winning 15 seats.  The remaining 1 seat was won by INC. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –