Assembly Constituency Watch: Malkangiri


Malkangiri assembly constituency is located in Malkangiri district and consists of:  

Malkangiri, Malkangiri block, Kalimela block, Podia block and 7 Gram panchayats (Tandiki, Chalanguda, Matapaka, Tandapalli, Gorakhunta, Sikhapalli, Badili, Korukonda and Tumusapali) of Korukunda block. 


Designated as a Scheduled Tribes Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Malkangiri | Machine Dalal
Malkangiri Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 196860 and the turnout stood at 74.36%, in real numbers- 146383 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 231510 electors, 71.53% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-165606 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Malkangiri | Machine Dalal
Malkangiri Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJP’s Aditya Madhi gained a vote share of 42.40% and defeated INC’s Mala Madhi whose vote share stood at 27.00%. The remaining candidates in the fray were BJD’s Mukunda Sodi with 25.20% of vote share and BSP’s Jara Sabar Madhi with 1.70% vote share.  

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Malkangiri |Meradesh
Malkangiri Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Malkangiri | Meradesh
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, BJD won the constituency and earned 47737 votes and 41667 votes in 2019. On the other hand, BJP garnered 36212 votes in 2014 and 70263 votes in 2019 while INC received 44425 votes in 2014 and 44694 votes in 2019. BSP got 2796 votes in the 2019 elections. BJD and BJP both managed to win 1 seat each in the district of Malkangiri in 2019. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –