Assembly Constituency Watch: Majura


Majura assembly constituency is located in Surat district and consists of:  

Surat City Taluka (Part) – Surat Municipal Corporation (Part) Ward No. – 13, 33, 34, 37, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Majura | Machine Dalal
Majura Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2012 elections, the total number of electors was 219889 and the constituency recorded 64.05% polling, in real numbers- 140849 voters. 2017 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 245040 electors, 62.35% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-152774 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Majura Electoral Turnout Rates
Majura Electoral Turnout Rates

2017’s assembly election winner, BJP’s Harsh Rameshkumar Sanghavi gained a vote share of 76.41% and defeated INC’s Kothari Ashok Mohanlal whose vote share stood at 20.24%. The remaining candidate in the fray was SHS’s Vyas Jigar Ashokbhai with 0.35% vote share. 1.27% of votes were under NOTA.   

Voting History -2012 & 2017 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Majura |Meradesh
Majura Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Assembly Election 2017 Winning Parties | Majura | Machine Dalal
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2012, BJP won the constituency and earned 103577 votes that increased to 116741 votes in 2017. On the other hand, INC garnered 32021 votes in 2012 and 30914 votes in 2017. SHS got 539 votes in 2017. BJP dominated the district of Surat in 2017 by winning 15 seats.  The remaining 1 seat went to INC. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –