Assembly Constituency Watch: Mahakalapada


Mahakalapada assembly constituency is located in Kendrapara district and consists of:  

Mahakalapada block and 16 Gram panchayats (Silipur, Dasipur, Dumuka, Marshaghai, Garajanga, Talasanga, Parakula, Akhuadakhin, Raghabapur, Antei, Batira, Beruhan, Manikunda, Angulai, Kuhudi and Mangarajpur) of Marsaghai block. 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Mahakalapada | Machine Dalal
Mahakalapada Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 217954 and the turnout stood at 78.09%, in real numbers- 170193 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 238775 electors, 75.86% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-181146 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Mahakalapada | Machine Dalal
Mahakalapada Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJD’s Atanu Sabyasachi Nayak gained a vote share of 51.50% and defeated BJP’s Bijay Pradhan whose vote share stood at 42.80%. The remaining candidates in the fray were INC’s Bibhransu Sekhar Lenka with 4.60% of vote share and BSP’s Adhir Nath Sarma with 0.50% vote share.  

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Mahakalapada |Meradesh
Mahakalapada Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Mahakalapada | Meradesh
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, BJD won the constituency and earned 81050 votes and 93197 votes in 2019. On the other hand, BJP garnered 57804 votes in 2014 and 77534 votes in 2019 while INC received 27001 votes in 2014 and 8318 votes in 2019. BSP got 1071 votes in 2014 and 886 votes in 2019. BJD completely dominated the district of Kendrapara in 2019 by winning all 5 seats.   

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –