Assembly Constituency Watch: Limbayat


 Limbayat assembly constituency is located in Surat district and consists of:  

Surat City Taluka (Part) – Surat Municipal Corporation (Part) Ward No. – 35, 49, 50, 51, 52 


Designated as a Scheduled Tribes Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Limbayat | Machine Dalal
Limbayat Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2012 elections, the total number of electors was 224288 and the constituency recorded a voter turnout of 67.01%, in real numbers- 150298 voters. 2017 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 259916 electors, 65.79% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-171006 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Limbayat Electoral Turnout Rates
Limbayat Electoral Turnout Rates

2017’s assembly election winner, BJP’s Patil Sangitaben Rajendrabhai gained a vote share of 54.73% and defeated INC’s Dr. Ravindra Suklal Patil whose vote share stood at 36.04%. The remaining candidates in the fray were NCP’s Akram Vahidulla Ansari with 3.00% and SHS’s Samrat Abhiman Patil with 2.38% of vote share respectively.  

Voting History -2012 & 2017  

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Limbayat |Meradesh
Limbayat Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Assembly Election 2017 Winning Parties | Limbayat | Machine Dalal
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2012, BJP won the constituency and earned 79744 votes that increased to 93585 votes in 2017. On the other hand, INC garnered 49423 votes in 2012 and 61634 votes in 2017. NCP and SHS got 5132 and 4075 votes respectively. BJP marked its dominance in the district of Surat by winning 5 seats while INC had to settle with 1 seat. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –