Assembly Constituency Watch: Kotpad


Kotpad assembly constituency is located in Koraput district and consists of:  

Kotpad, Kotpad block, Kundra block, 11 Gram panchayats (Dengapadar, Aunli, Malda, Sanparia, Jujhari, Kamara, Pondasguda, Sosahandi, Kanagam, Anchala and Bijapur) of Borigumma block and 7 Gram panchayats (Gupteswar, Ramagiri, Dandabadi, Baligam, Kathapada, Majhiguda and Tentuliguma) of Boipariguda block 


Designated as a Scheduled Tribes Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Kotpad | Machine Dalal
Kotpad Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 180530 and the turnout stood at 81.81%, in real numbers- 147698 voters. 2019 witnessed a slight turnout decrease; out of the 204057 electors, 80.48% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-164222 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Kotpad | Machine Dalal
Kotpad Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJD’s Padmini Dian gained a vote share of 37.90% and defeated INC’s Chandra Sekhar Majhi whose vote share stood at 36.30%. The remaining candidates in the fray were BJP’s Khageswar Pujari with 21.50% of vote share and BSP’s Mangalsai Majhi with 2.30% vote share.   

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Kotpad |Meradesh
Kotpad Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Kotpad | Meradesh
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, INC won the constituency and earned 71018 votes and 59617 votes in 2019. On the other hand, BJD garnered 39697 votes in 2014 and 62248 votes in 2019 while BJP received 20699 votes in 2014 and 35366 votes in 2019. BSP got 3766 votes in the 2019 elections. BJD dominated the district of Koraput in 2019 by winning 4 seats while 1 seat was secured by INC.  

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –